17 students from District Five named National Merit Scholarship finalists

From the District’s Home Page

IRMO – Seventeen students from Lexington-Richland School District Five have been announced as finalists in the National Merit Scholarship program. All four high schools from the district are represented.

“We are beyond excited to see District Five well represented in the National Merit Scholarship program,” said District Five Superintendent-elect Dr. Christina Melton. “These students epitomize the best of the best, and it is just another example of the great students, engaged parents and dedicated teachers we have in this district!”

Representing Chapin High are: Clayton Bellinger, Noah Swingle, Ryan Trinter and Karsen Ward. Representing Dutch Fork High are: Thomas Buchmann, Andrew Crawford, Matthew Herbst, Sunjay Jayaram, Courtney Lubaczewski, Cameron Muccio, Leila Nguyen, Sanatana Reddy, Sarah Thomas and Connor Willoughby. Representing Irmo High is Davis Cassell. Representing Spring Hill High are: Germaine Washington and Mason Williams.

“We are so proud of Clayton, Noah, Ryan and Karsen for their commitment to excellence in the classroom and beyond,” said Chapin High principal Dr. Akil Ross. “They represent Chapin High School very well, and I am excited to see what the future holds for these talented students.”

Dutch Fork High principal Dr. Gerald Gary added, “Having ten National Merit Finalists is evidence that our students perform very well academically when families and school staff partner. The students of Dutch Fork High continue to accept the mission of ‘Enter to learn, go forth to serve.’ Accomplishments such as this is a testament that our students are focused and accept the Dutch Fork standard of academic excellence.”

Irmo High School is always happy to celebrate the success of students like Davis,” said Irmo High principal David Riegel. “Our students know that through a combination of hard work and a challenging curriculum that they can achieve outstanding preparation for college and career. We are proud of Davis, and look forward to seeing his future success.”

“I am so proud of both Germaine and Mason for being named finalists,” said Spring Hill High principal Dr. Michael Lofton. “Not only are they doing extremely well academically, they also serve as role models for their fellow students on ‘The Spring Hill Way.’ They are kind, considerate, servant leaders that are deserving of this recognition.”

Finalists will compete for National Merit $2500 scholarships between March through mid-June. Corporate-sponsored and college-sponsored merit scholarships also will be awarded.