Thanks again to all those who made this year’s cookout another great event for our community!

From the sponsors/hosts/contributors to those that showed up for their first-ever “political event”, thank you!

We had several elected officials attend and give our neighbors a chance to speak with them one-on-one in a casual setting. I was also very pleased that my efforts to personally stuff over 1,000 newspaper boxes with an invitation resulted in folks showing-up for the first-time to meet neighbors and other officials.

Thanks again to the following elected officials who attended:

US Congressman Joe Wilson
State Comptroller Richard Eckstrom
State Senator John Courson
State Representatives Chip Huggins, Ted Pitts, Nikki Haley
Richland County Councilman Bill Malinowski
Chapin Mayor Stan Shealy
Irmo Town Councilmembers Hardy King, Barry Walker
Lexington/Richland District 5 Board Members Robert Gantt, Jan Hammond, Carol Sloop, Ellen Baumgardner, Roberta Ferrell

Also attending were the Presidents/CEO of the Irmo Chamber of Commerce (Meredith Allyn) and Chapin Chamber of Commerce (Laura Howell).

Special thanks again to Bert Pooser for his hospitality at The Rusty Anchor and The Quarterdeck . Also to Sticky Fingers for their food and beverage service, and to Jim LeBlanc for his acoustic music.

Also, thanks to Elizabeth Donehue for coordinating the event with her first-class attention to detail!