Representative Huggins and I were watching the Facebook Live streaming during our House GOP Caucus lunch today to learn the results! Glad we were watching! Congratulations Anna Miller and all the faculty, staff, students and parents at Chapin Middle!

From the District’s website

CHAPIN – Chapin Middle School has been named a Palmetto’s Finest Schools Award winner.

Students and staff assembled at the Lexington-Richland District Five school hugged and cheered as the announcement was made statewide through a live SCETV news feed on March 20. Palmetto’s Finest awards are presented annually to top South Carolina schools “offering the best in innovation and effective educational programs.”

“What an incredible honor for our school…our excitement is indescribable,” said Chapin Middle School principal Anna Miller. “This would not be possible without the support of our community, without great students and without the dedication of our faculty and staff. I am so proud to say we are a Palmetto’s Finest school.”

Chapin Middle serves 849 seventh and eighth graders, and their mission is to ensure that all students are prepared to succeed by providing a challenging curriculum that develops intellectual, social, and emotional growth within a safe, supportive learning environment. The District Five school has achieved excellent ratings, Palmetto Gold and Silver awards, and recently received national designation as a School to Watch. The faculty and staff ensure that all students are safe, happy, and learning by cultivating 21st century skills and educating the whole child through academies such as photography, Yoga, and Zumba.

School District Five Superintendent Dr. Stephen Hefner said, “This award is a testament to the entire school and district community. We congratulate Chapin Middle School on this outstanding achievement and on being one of the Palmetto State’s finest public middle schools.”

The Palmetto’s Finest award is celebrating its 40th year and is one of the most coveted and respected awards among educators. Four other schools receiving this year’s awards include: Batesburg-Leesville Elementary in Batesburg-Leesville, Lexington District Three; Joseph R. Pye Elementary in Ladson, Dorchester District Two; Chapman High in Inman, Spartanburg District One; and Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology in Darlington, Darlington County Schools.

Presenting the awards to the five winners were Brenda Byrd (Chairman of the Palmetto’s Finest Committee), Dr. David Mathis (President, SC Association of School Administrators), The Honorable Molly Spearman (SC Superintendent of Education) and Judi Gatson (Emcee and Anchor of WIS-TV).

“The Palmetto’s Finest award winners are models of innovation throughout our state,” said SCASA’s Executive Director Beth Phibbs. “They set the standard of excellence by creating an outstanding school culture which includes setting high expectations and providing opportunities for personalized learning.”