May 13, 2008

For Immediate Release

Contact: Representative Nathan Ballentine
(803) 734-2969


Since his election in 2004, Representative Nathan Ballentine has continued to honor his pledge to return his legislative salary to worthy causes in the community.

For the past three years, he has also dedicated funds to providing scholarships to worthy high-school seniors from House District 71. The scholarships are named in memory of his family members and their respective colleges or universities.

Serving on this year’s scholarship committee were: Susan Mazur – Chariman, Ann Ballentine – Past Chairman, Louise Burkholder, Nancy Epting, Melba Hawkins and Sherri Murdock.

This year’s winners are:

Chris Campbell (Irmo High School)
Bernard Carroll (B.C.) Ballentine Scholarship
$1,000 Univeristy of South Carolina

Ashlyn Ruczko (Chapin High School)
John Dewey (J.D.) Winburn, Jr. Scholarship
$1,000 Clemson University

Michael Hicks (Dutch Fork High School)
Theodore Nanney Scholarship
$ 500 Midlands Technical College

Past winners include:

Logan Ross (Chapin High School) 2007 – Bernard Carroll (B.C.) Ballentine Scholarship
Zach Brunson (Home School Student) 2006 – Bernard Carroll (B.C.) Ballentine Scholarship
Kristin Lekoske (Dutch Fork High School) 2007 – John Dewey (J.D.) Winburn Scholarship
Jessica Corley (Dutch Fork High School) 2006 – John Dewey (J.D.) Winburn Scholarship
Chelsey Moses (Dutch Fork High School) 2006- Margaret Jane Winburn Clarke Scholarship

For more information on the scholarship program, please visit