For more than a year, the residents of Senate District 20 have been without a Senator. During that time, I worked with other House members to be sure our community and their communities were not without constituent service. Contrary to the one of the many false attacks and misrepresentations leveled my way during this recent House campaign, I had made no decision about pursuing another office than the one I currently serve. Days after our election was over I spoke with family and friends and came to a decision not to pursue the office at this time. Thank you for the calls and emails over the past year and most recently the past few weeks. Here is the statement I released two weeks ago.

Seven candidates have filed for the seat – including two from our community: Christian Stegmaier (Chapin) and Benjamin Dunn (Irmo). Below is more from The State. It is my hope that after 30 years, our next Senator will be from this community. Please be sure to vote in the upcoming primary on August 14th!

4 Republicans, 2 Democrats join Harpootlian in bid for John Courson’s SC Senate seat

COLUMBIA, SC – A fourth Republican threw his hat into the candidate ring just before the Saturday filing deadline in the race to fill John Courson’s vacated S.C. Senate seat.

John Holler joins Republicans Benjamin Dunn, Christian Stegmaier and Bill Turbeville and Democrats Dick Harpootlian, Kyle Lacio and Dayna Alaine Smith in competition for the District 20 Senate seat.

Party primaries for the Senate special election will happen Aug. 14, and voters will choose a new senator during this fall’s regular election on Nov. 6.

Read more at The State