From District Five’s website

Finalists for District Teacher of the Year and Support Employee of the Year Named

Congratulations to Tracy Dempsey, clerical assistant at Chapin Middle; Cheryl Denton, instructional assistant at Lake Murray Elementary; and Kathy Forrester, kindergarten assistant at Ballentine Elementary for being named finalists in the 2012-13 Michael J. Mungo District Support Employee of the Year program. These ladies were selected by a pool of community judges who reviewed applications of Support Employees of the Year from each school, the district office and the transportation office.

Amy Carter, English/language arts teacher at Chapin High; Ashley Metz, kindergarten teacher at Ballentine Elementary; and Merritt Pace, special education resource teacher at Irmo Elementary were named finalists in the Mary Meech Mungo District Teacher of the Year program. They were selected as finalists based on written applications and a 10-minute video.

The district Support Employee of the Year and district Teacher of the Year will be announced on Thursday, May 24. Both the teacher of the year and the support employee of the year will receive a $1,000 bonus from The Mungo Company.