For more information contact:
State Representative Nathan Ballentine

For Immediate Release – May 29, 2009


Since his election in 2004, Representative Nathan Ballentine has continued to honor his pledge to return his legislative salary to worthy causes in the community.

For the past four years, he has also dedicated funds to providing scholarships to worthy high-school seniors from House District 71. The scholarships are named in memory of his family members and their respective colleges or universities.

Serving again on this year’s scholarship committee were: Susan Mazur – Chariman (Dutch Fork Middle) , Ann Ballentine – Past Chairman (retired teacher), Louise Burkholder (Chapin High School), Nancy Epting (retired teacher), Melba Hawkins (Dutch Fork High School) and Sherri Murdock (Homeschool parent).

This year’s scholarship winners are:

Zach Baker(Dutch Fork High School)
Bernard Carroll (B.C.) Ballentine Scholarship
$1,000 Univeristy of South Carolina

Graham Temples (Dutch Fork High School)
John Dewey (J.D.) Winburn, Jr. Scholarship
$1,000 Clemson University

Past winners include:

Bernard Carroll (B.C.) Ballentine Scholarship: 2008 Chris Campbell (Irmo), 2007 Logan Ross (Chapin), 2006 Zach Brunson (HomeSchool)

John Dewey (J.D.) Winburn, Jr. Scholarship: 2008 Ashlyn Ruczko (Chapin), 2007 Kristin Lekoske (Dutch Fork), 2006 Jessica Corley (Dutch Fork)

Theodore Nanney Scholarship: 2008 Michael Hicks (Dutch Fork)

Margaret Jane Winburn Clarke Scholarship: 2006 Chelsey Moses (Dutch Fork)

For more information on the scholarship program, please visit Scholarships applications are accepted each year from any high school senior who resides in House District 71 and meets the criteria for each scholarship. Applicants are screened by the Scholarship Committee and finalists are then chosen to meet with Representative Ballentine and his wife before a winner is selected. Up to five scholarships are awarded each year.